top of page

Gundad's Fudge


This fudge recipe is very special to me, as every time I see or eat fudge it reminds me of many childhood days at 311 Vause Road, home to our Gunny and Gundad, watching Gundad make his gooey, delicious, tasty fudge. I think all my cousins can agree that our Gundad made the best fudge ever. Lucky for me they were our next door neighbours. Growing up with having your grandparents and your aunt and uncle as neighbours was so special. I would spend most afternoons up at Gunny and Gundad's house, playing big bad wolf, hide and seek and many more games with my cousins, but my favourite was of course making fudge with Gundad. The best part about making fudge with him was as the fudge was about to be put in a dish to set he would take a spoon full of the gooey unset fudge and leave it in a glass of cold water to cool down, so we could eat it straight away. I did that today and it bought back so many memories of 311 and my special Gundad. So what make his fudge so delicious, four simple ingredients, Condensed milk, sugar, butter and vanilla essence. Thanks to my Gundad for this recipe. Miss you every day.

Ingredients

500 ml Castor Sugar

1 Tin Condensed Milk

100 g Butter

1 tsp vanilla essence

Method

1. Combine the butter, condensed milk and sugar in a large, deep heat resistant container- that can go in the microwave.

My aunt made a beautiful large jug that Gundad used to make his fudge in.

2. Microwave on high for 2.5 minutes or until butter is melted, stir well to combine all the ingredients

3. Then microwave on high for 10 minutes, keep stirring regularly, you need to watch the mixture so it does not boil over the container

4. When the fudge mixture is a light brown caramel colour, add vanilla essence, stir well

5. Pour into a lightly greased flat container to set, when it has cooled you can cut into squares.

Use a hot sharp knife to cut the fudge.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic
  • Facebook Basic
  • Instagram Basic
  • Pinterest Basic
bottom of page