top of page

Nutty Rusks


I just love my Five Roses Tea in the morning. It is a great way to start my day with a great cup of Tea and a rusk. These rusks are the perfect combination to go with my morning Tea. I just love dunking them into my Tea. A typical way of how South Africans eat rusks. Ronel has been baking in her kitchen in Montpellier and I was lucky to get some of her homemade nutty rusks to take home and enjoy with my Tea.

NUTTY RUSKS

1kg flour

8 teaspoons baking powder

(40ml) OR 1kg self raising flour

2 teaspoons baking powder (10ml)

500ml muesli

250ml seeds eg sunflower / pumpkin / sesame

250ml crushed nuts eg pecan / pistachio / cashew

125ml coconut

500ml all bran

500ml brown sugar (very sweet) I usually put 250ml raisins/cranberries in measuring cup and add sugar until volume is 500ml

You can also omit fruit and decrease amount of sugar

2 extra big eggs

500g butter, melted

500ml buttermilk / lait fermente / amazi

1 apple: peeled and grated

Method

1. Oven 180 C

2. Mix dry ingredients together

3. add rest of ingredients and mix together

4. Put in either breadpans / ruskpan / large rectangular pan

5. Bake 45-60min

6. Cool down slightly

7. Cut into fingers

8. Pack rusks out and dry it at 100 C

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic
  • Facebook Basic
  • Instagram Basic
  • Pinterest Basic
bottom of page