top of page

Antipasto Garlic Bread


In September last year, my fiancé Nic & I packed up our little house in Canberra Australia, and moved to Montpellier with 6 suitcases of clothing & our French Bulldog Frank. Four & a half months later, we both agree, it’s one of the best decisions we have made.

I had the expectation that living in France would be different to that of Australia. And, it certainly is. Life here seems to move at a much slower, stress free pace. I’m still getting used to the late starts to the day, the mid day siesta shop closures, and the art of French gesticulation. But, there is so much to learn and love about the relaxed French way of life. For me, the best part is getting to spend more time with Nic as there is considerably less time spent travelling away from home in French rugby.

Frank has undoubtedly benefited most from our move. It still blows me away how well dogs are treated in France. Frank joins me at most café & restaurant outings, enjoys public transport and has stayed in some very chic French hotels. I doubt he will want to return to Australia!!

Currently I am finishing post graduate study and learning the French language. I enjoy cooking, but am very much a slow cooker, quick & easy recipe type of gal! So, I’ve shared three of my easy go-to recipes. Enjoy! X

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

1 long baguette

180g olive oil

2 garlic cloves crushed

2 tablespoons finely chopped pitted kalamata olives

2 tablespoons finely chopped semi-dried tomatoes

1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh chives

2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh basil leaves

Method:

  1. ​Preheat oven to 200/180 degrees fan-forced. Slice the baguette diagonally at 1.5cm intervals, being careful not to cut all the way through.

  2. Combine olive oil, garlic, olives, tomato, chives and basil in a bowl. Season with pepper. Spread both sides of each bread slice with mixture. Enclose baguettes tightly in foil. Place on a baking tray. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until hot and crisp.

  3. Slice and serve


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic
  • Facebook Basic
  • Instagram Basic
  • Pinterest Basic
bottom of page